FTPS cannot connect – “Socket closed”

I’m brand new to automated deployment, so I’m blundering in the dark a bit here. Please bear with me. :slight_smile:

I’m the de facto IT guy at the small company where I work; the actual IT guy left a few years ago, and the company’s finances haven’t allowed for hiring a proper replacement, so I sort of took over as best I could. I’m now trying to figure out some ways to improve a very old-fashioned workflow for any changes I make on our website; among other things, I’m looking into some kind of automated deployment.

I’m trying to set up an FTPS pipeline to our server, but I cannot get a connection through Buddy. The server itself is a VPS, hosted offsite, running Windows Server 2012 R2 with IIS 8, administered through Plesk Onyx. I’m trying to connect to a subdomain with a (valid) Let’s Encrypt certificate. As far as I can tell, both in Plesk and when RDP’ing into the server itself, the server accepts FTP connections on port 21 (TCP) from all IP addresses; there are no blacklisted addresses or exceptions. If I use a regular FTP program, I can successfully connect to the server using FTPS on port 21, regardless of my IP address; but when I try to do so through Buddy using the exact same user name, password and server settings, I get the following error no matter what I try:

Listing files that will be deployed...
List of files is ready. Starting uploading...
works.buddy.ws.transfer.exceptions.FTPException: Server response: java.net.SocketException: Socket closed

Being brand new to this whole deployment business, and also not exactly a veteran server admin, I’m pretty much at my wits’ end here. I have no idea why the server is closing the socket seemingly before any kind of connection is even made, nor what I can do to make it stop doing so.

Can anyone give me some pointers on where to look for a way to fix this so I can start playing around with deployment?